What’s your style?

I came across this link on Katie the Scrapbook Lady’s blog. It’s supposed to help you find your decorating style. Since Jason and I are in negotiations about how to set up the new place, this is super timely. I don’t think it really captured my style. I’m not exactly sure what “my style” is anyway. (That board on Pinterest looks pretty barren).

Here is what BH&G thinks is my style…

Country French 

You are drawn to a rustic but refined style that feels comfortable and livable for today’s families. Your version of Country French style may be rustic (think glazed pottery and chunky woven baskets) or more refined (think gilded details). Either way, patterned fabrics such as toile, stripes, and fleur-de-lis motifs will help you set the tone. Incorporate details such as stucco walls, wrought-iron accents, and furniture with carved details for an old-world look.
I’m not sure that really covers it. I think Katie’s might actually be closer to the mark.

Polished Casual

You love to mix and match your favorites from several styles, so Polished Casual is the best way to describe your look. Crisp, fresh, and always comfortable, this approach anchors itself in neutral, subtle hues and furniture that isn’t fussy but isn’t slouchy either. Pair your clean-lined sofa with a dark leather wing chair or a weathered metal table—anything goes, but simplicity is key.

I think this is more right on. For both me and Jason actually. When we got together, we weren’t exactly opposites in our tastes, but close. Now we’re meeting more in the middle. I am embracing his more minimalistic approach, he is finding out that black is not the only neutral (Hello Grey Side!) He is showing me that everything in the house doesn’t have to red or blue, I’m showing him that color is ok… in small doses.
It’s funny how we have meshed our tastes over the years. Not giving up what we like as individuals, but learning to appreciate why we like the things we do. It helps that I speak up now. It helps that he listens. It’s a nice place that we’re in now, decoratively speaking.
4 thoughts on “What’s your style?

  1. I know that that Nesting book also has some good examples, though for the life of me I can’t remember any of them. I just know that I qualify as eclectic :/

Leave a Reply

