Healthy Taco and Rice Recipes

I made this dinner back in March and for some reason the post sat in my “drafts ” folder and never got published. It was really tasty and I might have to make it again soon.

The other night I made tacos and rice. I almost always make my own taco seasoning because the packaged stuff is way too salty for me. I origionally got this recipe from Leanne Ely’s site, but I don’t think it’s there anymore.

Taco Seasoning Mix
1 cup dried minced onion
1/3 c chili powder
2 T cumin
4 tsp. red pepper flakes
1 T oregano
4 tsp. garlic powder
2 tsp. onion powder

Mix everything together and keep in a ziplock bag. I use about 2 tablespoons of mix per batch of tacos.

I also made Kalin’s Baked Rice with Green Chiles, Lime, and Cilantro for the first time. So tasty and it made a lot of rice. A healthier alternative to the seasoned Mexican rices from the store.

Jen 🙂

Leave a Reply

