So far, so good

“Nothing diminishes anxiety faster than action.” -Walter Anderson

This is a quote that can tell my life story right now. On so many fronts.

I had some anxiety this year at the thought of staying home with Little Man. Before this summer I think we had spent a total of three or four days alone together.

Okay there was a lot of anxiety. What the heck would we do all day? Could I keep him entertained or would I have to resort to using the iPad to keep him occupied? What if we spent all this time together and discovered we really didn’t like each other?

I scoured Pinterest for ideas of fun things to do. I harassed Jason for ideas. And then finally the day day came… and it was okay. We were okay. We still like each other.

It’s only been a few days, but we’ve worked out a routine for ourselves. We do projects. We play outside at least once a day. We cook together. We play soccer. We blow bubbles. Yes, we do spend time in front of screens. (I’ve gotta work sometime). But it’s not nearly as hard as I was afraid it would be.

And the best part? We’re having real conversations. Silly things, serious things, how much fun it is to cuss, how much he loves his baby sister and misses his Uncle Joe. I feel like I’m really getting to know him as a person.

And also… I get to be the “fun one” sometimes. Daddy was always the Fun One. I was the One Who Made Him Eat Vegetables. So that’s pretty awesome.

2 thoughts on “So far, so good

  1. Pingback: Some of my favorite posts | hclappy scraps

  2. Pingback: On Stepfamilies | hclappy scraps

Leave a Reply

