CT Layout- Flowers using Knicknack for Me by A-liya

I made these LO’s for the Font-tastic with a Twist challenge at SDD. I really liked this challenge. It’s been awhile since I’ve done a challenge that wasn’t one of mine. But this one spoke to me. We were supposed to make a LO, then change things up (background papers, elements, etc.) and create another page using the same photo. I used Knickknack For Me by A-liya for both pages. I like how each one has a different vibe. I can’t decide which I like best 🙂

You can find A-liya’s lovely kit at Scrappity-Doo Dah.

A little background on my process for these pages. I knew this challenge would be perfect for this particular kit because the two background papers I used each had a very different feel to them so I knew I could make two completely different pages with the same kit.

My challenge was to find photos for the femininity of the kit. I started looking for flower photos that I hadn’t used in other LO’s when I came across this picture of Jason on a computer screen with a bouquet of flowers. I couldn’t remember the context for the photo, so I started looking through old emails because I couldn’t remember why he would have sent me flowers on that particular date.

After a little research, I discovered that my mom was in the hospital during that time. I was so worried and stressed out, and he’d sent me flowers to make me feel better. It was so hard being in a long distance relationship. He was always doing sweet things like that, and looking at those pictures and reading through the emails brought back a flood of memories from that time. So I copied and pasted a little snippet of one of the emails and hid it partially behind the photo. Then I did a little journaling in a different font to explain the photo. (Yes, I know it’s a pretty terrible quality photo, but hey, it was 2005 after all). I’m excited to get these printed and put into the “Jason and Jen” section of my book. It feels so good to look back at the LO’s from the start of our relationship. Bad photos and all.

Credits:
Knick-Knack for Me kit by A-liya
Photo Mask by Binty
Fonts- Mom’s Typewriter, Respective, and hff whirley whorl

*I am a Creative Team Member for Scrappity Doo Dah. This means that I receive free products in exchange for making and advertising layouts for designers. However, the opinions expressed here are my own. The enthusiasm expressed here is definitely my own. See more of my CT layouts here.

Leave a Reply

