What’s for Dinner?

I thought it might be fun to talk about what we eat during the week. So for the next month (or longer possibly), I’m going to post what the meal plan is for the next week. Then when Sunday rolls around, I’m going to say what we Actually Ate. Two completely different things, you understand. At least around here.

I got this idea from Megan at the Nerd Nest. You can check her super awesome blog out here. I’m hoping this will be a good influence on me to actually blog more recipes, since that’s kind of the original point of this blog. Not that you can tell…

So here’s The Plan.

Sunday– Crab Cakes or Tuna Patties and Colslaw Recipe here

Monday– Crock Pot Chicken

Tuesday– Fish Tacos Recipe here

Wednesday– Whole Wheat Spaghetti and Newman’s Own sauce

Thursday– Chicken and strawberry Salad and Lentil Soup with Ham

Friday– Crock Pot Steak and Mushrooms, rice, zucchini w/ feta

Saturday– Lunch- Sandwiches or leftovers
Dinner- Frozen fish and fries (I’m lazy on the weekends)

Sunday– Lunch- Turkey Burgers
Dinner- frozen Taquitos (Did I mention lazy?)

Extras- I plan on making more Basil Lemonade. I need to harvest some more basil from our big bush. It’s not looking too fabulous right now, and might be succumbing to my black thumb.

I also want to attempt to make homemade peppermint patties.

Possibly also bread of some sort. I’m on a bread kick lately.

So there you have it. We’ll see how The Plan stacks up with The Reality next week.

7 thoughts on “What’s for Dinner?

  1. Can I just say that I’m super excited that this is becoming a thing? Mostly for selfish reasons: more recipe ideas!!! But I also think it’s super interesting to see how people eat.

    I’m REALLY curious about some of those recipes. I really want to know more about Thursday and Friday, especially. Those sound delicious!

    I think that lazy meals are a-okay. I should plan more of them: I plan big, and then we end up going out to eat on days I’m stressed or tired or my sous chef (Jake) gets home super late.

    • I’m making it a point to schedule in lazy days because, like you, I love to make big elaborate dinner plans, then I totally end up eating out instead if I’m having a bad day. That’s why I put in the “extras”. There’s a 50/50 chance I’ll actually do them, but if my cooking mojo is working, it’s nice to have an alternative on the frozen fish days πŸ™‚
      I so love that you started this too. I can browse around looking for recipes forever, but seeing what people are really cooking and eating is so much more interesting. πŸ™‚

      • I agree! And it keeps me on top of things. And organized. If I can’t find a physical recipe, I just hop to the blog and click the link! It also pushes me to actually MAKE the meal plan for the week. Since I’m blogging about it, it’s easier to put it into my routine. Which is why we blog about 1/2 of the things we do, really. Keeps us on track.

  2. Let me know if you try it. I will be anxious to see what you think of it. Great idea with your recipes too btw. Good luck with this

Leave a Reply

