Mile A Day

I did it!

Mile a day web

I walked a mile a day (almost) every day between Thanksgiving and New Years Day.

See this post for my inspiration to get started.

Yes, I skipped a few days. Yes, I forgot to take a few pictures along the way.

No, I don’t care.

This is one of those things that for me, is way more about the process than the outcome. This is the most consistent I’ve been about moving my body in a long time. And I’m pretty damned proud of that. I so needed this.

After the fateful visit to the pumpkin patch I was feeling pretty shaky, literally. My body was shaky after weeks on crutches. And I was emotionally shaky after weeks of barely leaving the house. But obviously I needed to get back on the horse, so to speak. I couldn’t stay in the house and avoid all non-concrete surfaces forever. So this was great timing for me.

I walked a lot. I walked around my dad and stepmom’s neighborhood. I walked the streets of downtown Nashville. I walked up a mountain in Chattanooga. I walked around the complex. I walked in the gym. I walked to DVD’s in my living room. I walked in the evenings with Jason. Towards the end I even added weights to my walks. Miss Kitty photobombed me often.

I didn’t run at all. I’m hoping that this time next year I’ll be in running shape. I’m looking forward to that.

So on to the next challenge…

For January I’m going to kick it up a notch. I’m going to walk 40 miles and I’m going to add strength training to my routine. The extra walking shouldn’t be a problem. I am worried about the strength training though. I really detest strength training. I’m not one of those cardio loving girls that’s afraid to get big and muscular, I just think it’s incredibly boring. So I might have to bribe myself. They’ll be short, just six basic exercises. Something easy to get me into the habit.

So here’s the plan for January- 40 miles and 12 strength training sessions.

Let’s do this!

LO Credits:
A New Day Cardstocks by Inspired By Dominic
Ever So Thankful Template by J Billingsley

3 thoughts on “Mile A Day

  1. Pingback: Good Eats- Clean eating edition | hclappy scraps

Leave a Reply

