Inauguration

I posted last year about our voting experience and Election Night, so I wanted to round out the story by talking a little about the second inauguration of the President. This is for my own personal memory keeping. If you don’t like politics, or my views on them. feel free to skip this one.

We watched the first swearing in on Sunday morning. It was pretty low key. The thing that struck me the most was the commentary from the reporters. They talked about how we are one of the few countries that has had such a long history of peaceful transitions of power. I’d never thought of that. A transition of power without violence. That is a truly amazing thing in a historical sense.

IMG_8921

(Yes, my Christmas tree is still up. It will be up until February. Don’t hate).

The next day was when the real party inauguration took place. I was disappointed that Jason was so super busy at work that day and couldn’t watch any of it. But I kept him entertained with texts and pictures of the TV. I recorded it and we watched it together that night.

IMG_8954

I also texted with my mom a bit. I think I’m the only one who liked Michelle’s new hair cut. But I’m partial to bangs 🙂

The President’s speech was one of my favorite parts. I know many disagree, but I think it was one of his best, especially towards the end.

“It is now our generation’s task to carry on what those pioneers began. For our journey is not complete until our wives, our mothers, and daughters can earn a living equal to their efforts. Our journey is not complete until our gay brothers and sisters are treated like anyone else under the law – for if we are truly created equal, then surely the love we commit to one another must be equal as well. Our journey is not complete until no citizen is forced to wait for hours to exercise the right to vote. Our journey is not complete until we find a better way to welcome the striving, hopeful immigrants who still see America as a land of opportunity; until bright young students and engineers are enlisted in our workforce rather than expelled from our country. Our journey is not complete until all our children, from the streets of Detroit to the hills of Appalachia to the quiet lanes of Newtown, know that they are cared for, and cherished, and always safe from harm.”

As nice as it was to hear him talk about gay rights, which is such an important issue in my family, the part that had me jumping off the couch was the part about not being forced to wait hours in line to vote. Yes, let’s address that please!

Don’t worry, I’ll go back to my regularly scheduled scrapbooking and recipe posts after this 🙂

Leave a Reply

