Jensen Beach

This weekend we did a little exploring around the Jensen Beach area. It’s about an hour away from WPB, so it was nice to get away from town and get our feet wet for our Epic Road Trip this summer.

We’re suckers for Cajun food, so Crawdaddy’s seemed like the place to go. It did not disappoint!

We ate outside on the patio, which reminded us of our favorite Cajun restaurants in New Orleans and St. Augustine.
IMG_0175_4

IMG_0177

They had one of Jason’s favorites, Abita Purple Haze. (I might need to do a LO one day about how he came to like that so much).

IMG_0176_3

We had crab cakes for appetizers. Holy balls they were delicious! Some of the best I’ve ever had. Hands down. The texture. The sauce. Just everything. Perfection.

IMG_0753

We both got the Jambalaya pasta. So creamy and delicious. And just as advertised, you got seafood or sausage in every single bite. After a week of almost no carbs or dairy, I wanted to roll around and take a bath in this stuff. It was fantastic.

IMG_0754

After we ate, we walked around for a bit. It was a gorgeous day and I loved the saltiness of the air. You’d think I’d be used to it after all these years, but some places in Florida have a much saltier smell than others. It puts you in that beachy frame of mind, even though we didn’t actually go onto the beach.

IMG_0182_2

IMG_0758

It was beautiful outside, but the sun was really beating down, so we headed out to our reason for coming to Jensen Beach, Hobby Lobby.

Before this week, I thought the closest HL was hours away. I couldn’t really justify driving three hours to look at craft stuff when we have JoAnne’s and Michael’s in town. But when Becky Higgins said Project Life stuff would be at Hobby Lobby this weekend, I decided to double check where the closest one was to us. And it wasn’t far at all! Well ok it’s still an hour away. But throw in a tasty lunch date and it was well worth the drive.

IMG_0186_2

Unfortunately, the Project Life section was completely empty. Lame!

IMG_0766

I blame myself for that one. I totally should’ve called the store first. But this is why I hate all the sneak peak and building up anticipation crap. It only leads to disappointment.

But Hobby Lobby wasn’t a total bust at all. Jason found a bunch of stuff for the Little Man. And I bought my first ever Mod Podge. And I love walking around craft stores with Jason. He always goes in totally unexcited, but once we hit the home decor section with all the metal signs, he perks right up. They actually had a lot of “guy” things, even Three Stooges signs, which I totally need.

Fantastic day. I love finding new little places together. And Jason is unfailingly good at finding great places to eat. I’m sure we didn’t even scratch the surface of all Jensen Beach has to offer. I’m equally sure we’ll come back again to remedy that.

2 thoughts on “Jensen Beach

  1. Pingback: Good Eats- Clean Eating part 2 | hclappy scraps

  2. Pingback: 35 @ 35 | hclappy scraps

Leave a Reply

