Mornings

I was inspired by this post from Elise to document our mornings a little bit. I know this time next week, they’re going to look completely different with the Little Man here. (You can see last year’s Summer Routine here).

I love mornings. I am definitely a morning person. Not in an annoying way (I hope).

We wake up with Jason’s iPhone alarm. We roll over and squash up together, waiting for the next alarm to go off. This is one of my very favorite parts of the day. We are quiet, just holding each other and dozing off a little. I absolutely love the warm comfort of our mornings.

The second alarm goes off and he gets up, gathers his clothes, and heads for the shower. I spend a few more minutes in bed. Miss Kitty jumps up on the bed and lays beside me for a little lovin’. I roll out of bed, throw on some clothes, and we head to the kitchen. First order of business is always to give MK her treats. Then I set up coffee for Jason and oatmeal for both of us.

IMG_0853

He finishes getting ready in the guest bathroom, which he had commandeered for himself when we moved here. He turns on the news and has breakfast. There is almost always a funny or weird local news story on at this time of the morning. I pack up his lunch, and he finishes up breakfast and gets things ready for work. MK usually manages to sneak into Jason’s bathroom for a drink before we can stop her. She has a thing for shower water.

IMG_0813

He attempts to leave for work. I attempt to make him stay, in various devious ways. We step onto the front porch and admire the tomatoes like the helicopter plant parents we are.

IMG_0854

For the next 45 minutes or so, I putter around. I make eggs and eat my now cold oatmeal. I think of how much I miss cereal. I look at a few blogs while listening to the news. The news annoys me so I usually turn it off after a few minutes. Sometimes MK hangs out with me on the couch before heading off for her morning nap.

My work day starts around 8 or 8:30. I do promotions or blog posts for the designers I CT for, and catch of on my forums. I make my to-do list for the day. After an hour or so I get up and do my morning cleaning routine, emptying the dishwasher, starting laundry, etc. I always, always have an audiobook going. I listen to a book every day or two. This is one of my favorite things about staying home. I love love love that I can listen to books all day long.

IMG_0855

IMG_0849

A couple of mornings each week I have a long talk with my friend Melissa. I love that we’re able to talk so much lately! It’s funny how our conversations have changed over the past 25 years, but how some things have always stayed the same. We used to talk about school, cute boys, shopping, hair, and food. Now we talk about babies, our partners, shopping, hair, and food. We talk about deep relationship and family things, then in the same breath it’s on to pink sparkly nail polish. She tries to convince me that tanning is awesome and I try to convince her that soda is evil. We commiserate about step motherhood and decide to form the Bitter Old Bitch club. I can only imagine that we’ll be talking about the same things thirty years from now, and I love that.

Leave a Reply

