So let’s go ahead and talk about the crappy things, shall we?

This is a tough one.

So last week was pretty rough. Two things happened, one that was completely out of the blue, and one that I’ve been dreading.

Last week, one of my cousins was ambushed and beaten horribly. He remains in the hospital with facial fractures and a broken leg. This will be a long road to recovery for him, including surgeries to reconstruct his face. This is so completely horrific and devastating to my family I don’t even have words. That people would do this deliberately to another human being is just unimaginable. I can’t even really talk about it, but if you pray, or want to send positive thoughts/ vibes/ etc., he could really use some.

P5210080

Me, Thunder, and J back in 2009.

Last week was also our last week with LM. He’s going to stay a few weeks with his grandparents here in town, then go to his new home in North Dakota before school starts. We will be able to see him before he leaves, so that’s a great thing. There is a silence, an emptiness in the house with him gone. There will be an adjustment period for us, but we’ve been down this road before, and it’s a familiar road, if not a happy one.

IMG_3865

On a happier note, my cousin Felicia celebrated her wedding on Saturday! She was a beautiful bride, and I’m so happy for her and her family. It was wonderful to see this bright spot in the midst of everything else going on. And thanks so much for my mom and sister, and everyone else for sharing photos via text and Facebook so I could share in the excitement.

IMG_3724

So that’s what’s going on in Jen’s world right now. I’m ready to start this second half of the summer. I have big plans for the rest of the season and jumping back into the things I enjoy the most, scrapbooking, cooking, reading, and loving on my husband. There will be challenges, a lot of them. But I’m hopeful for good things to come.

3 thoughts on “So let’s go ahead and talk about the crappy things, shall we?

  1. So sorry about your cousin! What a horrible thing to happen. It scares me sometimes to think of what’s happening to our world. Sending healing thoughts his way.

  2. Pingback: From the vault: Cousins | hclappy scraps

Leave a Reply

