Journal Your Christmas- Holiday Manifesto

So I’m working on three ways this year to document the holidays. Because I’m a crazy person. I’ve already talked about my 30 Days of Lists, which I’ve done several times so that should be cake. I’m also revisiting last year’s Document Life Workshop prompts. Both of those are super simple and do-able. The new thing I’m trying this year is Shimelle’s Journal Your Christmas. I figure with all of these, this season will be more than well documented.

This is important for me because I find it pretty hard to get into the Christmas spirit. I miss my family a lot this time of year. And south Florida just doesn’t seem very Christmas-y to me.

But I have found that by making the effort to embrace the holidays and make memories I end up having a much better time with it all. Jason and I have started many traditions that I love and look forward to each year. And it’s kind of fun to find uniquely “Florida” things to do during the holidays, like go to the beach and watch the sun rise Christmas morning. Next year will for sure look very different for us, so I want to be sure to remember this time.

So without further ado…..

2013 Holiday Manifesto
Here’s to the holidays
To showing people how much I love them, not just thinking about it
To drinking eggnog and peppermint mochas
To giving back
To making things together
To taking lots of pictures
To enjoying our last Christmas in West Palm
To making plans, but not overthinking
To savoring the quiet moments together

*Idea taken from this post.

The photography prompt is First Signs.

IMG_6070

I took this picture Monday using the PicTapGo and Bokehful apps. This is the first time I’ve ever played with bokeh. Even though it’s totally fake, I like it. I do eventually want to learn how to do that with my big camera.

Every year I take lots of pictures of Miss Kitty under the tree. It’s her favorite spot during the holidays, though I’m sure she’s still cranky about us tossing her favorite tree skirt. (It was pretty disgusting and torn up though). She likes to curl up under there every day. We’re very lucky that she’s not a Christmas tree climber. She’ll take the occasional swipe at a low hanging ornament, but otherwise she’s pretty mellow about the whole thing.

Leave a Reply

