Workspace Wednesday: Save It action by Wendy Zine

Screen-Shot-2014-02-12-at-2.12

I follow quite a few paper scrapping blogs, and I’ve noticed a lot of “Workspace Wednesday” posts popping up lately. I’ll never need to know how to organize rolls of wash tape, but it’s interesting to see how other people set up their creative spaces. Since my creative space is my computer I didn’t think I would have anything to offer in that area.

But then I thought, why not do a Workspace Wednesday… digi style?

So for my first WW post, I want to share a tool that I use on every single page I make. It’s the Save It action by Studio Wendy. I have several of Wendy’s actions, but this is the one I use the most.

Here is the product description-

“This combo set combines some of my favorite save and resize actions. It deletes unused layers and saves a layered TIF or PSD (you choose), then flattens and saves a JPG with color pop and sharpen in both print size and gallery size (600px). You save a few clicks, and time as the action does the work for you.”

This action saves me so much time! When I first started scrapping and sharing in galleries, I saved files in all kinds of haphazard ways. But since getting Save It, my file naming makes so much more sense and things are much easier to find.

Here’s how I use the action. After saving my layout in psd form, I click on the icon to start the action. (Note that you have to have a layer selected in order for the action to run). I always use the Save Auto action, but you can use the other actions in the bundle to save files in individual formats. The action starts out with a description of the action and you’re given the option to continue or stop.

It then opens up a new document with the flattened jpeg image. This is where you can manually adjust the sharpness. I always move the slider to the lowest point, then click ok. At this point you can stop the process to make any adjustments to the color pop, then click ok to save the jpeg. The next screen gives you the option to change the name. I always leave it the same. The “copy” at the end of the original name lets me know that’s my high-res print copy. Next, you can choose the quality of your saved image. Since these will be the files I use for printing, I bump this up to the highest resolution. This increases the file size considerably, but you want your print copy to be good quality, especially if you print in 12×12.

The action then continues through the same process, this time making a copy of the image for saving to the web. You go through the same sharpening and naming steps. This is where I always change the name to “Layout Name web”. This just helps me keep things straight in my head. And it’s easier to find files when you’re uploading to galleries. The next screen allows you to choose the quality of the image. This is important because most galleries won’t let you upload files beyond a certain size. 200k seems to be pretty standard, so I adjust the slider to get the highest quality while staying under 200k.

Press ok one last time and you’re finished! This may seem like a lot of steps, but believe me, once you’ve done it a few times, the process is very fast. And if you find that you’ve made a typo somewhere, it’s a snap to re-run the action and replace your files with the fixed ones.

Do you use actions to streamline your workflow? Or do you know of anyone else doing a Workspace post from the digi side? I’d love to hear about it 🙂

One thought on “Workspace Wednesday: Save It action by Wendy Zine

  1. Pingback: February 2014 Roundup | hclappy scraps

Leave a Reply

