Recipes I made (February 12-18)

After over a week of Jason cooking tasty food for me, I was ready to get cooking again.

I tried two new recipes this week. One from Jason’s Pinterest board.

Summer Peach and Balsamic Pizza from Love and Olive Oil

I altered this one quite a bit, using 2 ready made whole wheat Boboli pizza crusts instead of making my own dough. I made one peach pizza and another tomato basil pizza with delicious fresh tomatoes from Jason’s coworker. We really liked these. I don’t think I’ve cooked with goat cheese before, and I really enjoyed the tanginess of it against the sweetness of the peaches.

The other one was  from Kaylin’s Kitchen, my favorite South Beach Diet recipe sites.

Spicy Vegan Black Bean Soup with Cilantro and Green Tobasco

Really delicious soup. I love almost any black bean soup, but the green tobacco was a great touch. I let the soup simmer a lot longer than required and it turned out fine, so I’ll probably omit the water next time if I need to cook it quicker.

The soup and pizzas will count towards two new healthy recipes in my 52 in 52 weeks Challenge.

I also made an old favorite this week, Fish Tacos. The original recipe came from Rachael Ray’s Get Real Meals cookbook called Paco’s Fish Tacos. I’ve modified it a bit over the years.

Fish Tacos

Ingredients:
2 pounds tilapia (original recipe calls for grouper or halibut, but I like tilapia better)
Salt and pepper to taste
1 jalepeno, seeded and chopped
1 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1/2 red onion
3 T dijon mustard
2 T red wine vinegar
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
flour tortillas
1 lime
Hot sauce

Spray a nonstick pan with cooking spray. Heat pan and add fish. Season with salt and pepper. Cook 5 minutes on each side until cooked through. Remove from pan

Place jalepeno, cilantro, onion, mustard, vinegar, and oil in food processor and whir together.

Arrange fish on tortillas and add sauce. Serve with lime wedges and hot sauce.

Makes 4 tacos